121 Course Schedule

Note: The printed schedule contained an error: Exam 1 is actually on Wednesday, October 3. 

Last updated: Oct 12, 2012

Week

Reading to be completed at the beginning of the week

Exams/ Quizzes

Lab Topic

Sept 24

Ch 1 – Matter and Measurements

Quiz 1

Friday, September 28

Check-in, safety video, Intro to Laboratory Techniques

Oct 1

Ch 2 – Atoms and the Periodic Table

Exam 1

Wednesday, Oct 3

Density Measurements

Oct 8

Ch 2, Ch 3 – Ionic Compounds

Quiz 2

Friday, Oct 12

Testing for Cations and Anions

Oct 15

Ch 4 – Molecular Compounds

Exam 2

Friday, Oct 19

Molecular Modeling

Oct 22

Ch 5 – Chemical Reactions ; Ch 6.1 and 6.2 – The Mole;

Quiz 3

Friday, Oct 26

Chemical Reactions

Oct 29

Ch 5, Ch 6 – Chemical Reactions: Mole and Mass Relationships

Exam 3

Friday, Nov 2

Determining Chemical Formulas by Mass Changes

Nov 5

Ch 7 – Chemical Reactions: Energy, Rates, and Equilibrium

Quiz 4

Friday, Nov 9

Stoichiometry and analysis of a household product

Nov 12

No class Monday, Nov 12 for Veteran’s Day

Ch 8 – Gases, Liquids, and Solids

Exam 4

Friday, Nov 16

Kinetics: The Clock Reaction

Nov 19

No class Nov 22 or 23 for Thanksgiving

Ch 9 – Solutions

No quiz

No lab

Nov 26

Ch 10 – Acids and Bases

Exam 5

Friday, Nov 30

Acid Base Titration, Check out of lab

Dec 3

Last day of class: Dec 5

Ch 11 – Nuclear Chemistry

Quiz 5

Wednesday, Dec 5

Final Exam:

Friday, December 7, 8:00 – 10:00 AM