161 Course Schedule

Week

Zumdahl Chapters

Lab Topic

Exams/

Quizzes

Sept 24

Ch 1, 2

Check in, Intro to Lab Techniques, Safety

Quiz 1

Thursday, Sept 27

Oct 1

Ch 3

No lab – instructor attending out of town conference

Quiz 2

Thursday, Oct 4

Oct 8

Ch 3, 4

Synthesis of Alum

Exam 1

Wednesday, Oct 10

Oct 15

Ch 4, Ch 18.1

Determining  Chemical Formulas by Mass Changes

Quiz 3

Thursday, Oct 18

Oct 22

Ch 18.1, 5

Volumetric Analysis Part 1 and Part 2

Quiz 4

Wednesday, Oct 24

Oct 29

Ch 5, 6

Molar Volume of a Gas

Exam 2

Thursday, Nov 1

Nov 5

Ch 6

Calorimetry

Quiz 5

Wednesday, Nov 7

Nov 12

No class Monday, Nov 12 for Veteran’s Day

Ch 6, 7

Spectroscopy

Quiz 6

Thursday, Nov 15

Nov 19

No class Nov 22 or 23 for Thanksgiving

Ch 7, 8

No lab – Thanksgiving holiday

 

No Quiz

Nov 26

Ch 8

Molecular Modeling, Checkout

Exam 3

Monday, Nov 26

Dec 3

Last day of class: Dec 5

FINAL EXAM (OLY 300)Tuesday, December 11: 10:30 AM – 12:30 PM